Some strong Parkrun performances to report

Though not currently apparent from the weather outside, Saturday 1 June was officially the first day of meteorological Summer and it also marked the latest round in our Parkrun team competition, so unsurprisingly there are some strong Parkrun performances to report.

At Rother Valley, everyone trailed in John Beattie’s wake as he set the fastest UK Parkrun time for the week, but in his slipstream, Steve Tebb scored a 20:34 PB which also earns him a Silver Club Standard; Peter Flynn got his first PB for 6 years with his 21:03 finish, whilst Lindsay Baker ran a 26:05 PB and Michael Burr 28:08.

At Poolsbrook, Paul Sadler came 19th in 22:05.

Further afield, at Elgin Parkrun, Matt Martin was first finisher in 17:40.

Meanwhile, at Clumber Park Lewis Banton came in 3rd with a 17:23 PB which also earns him a Club Gold Standard and Hannah Sharpe finished in 22:05.

At the Wharfdale Half Marathon, over a hilly trail course, Helen Worsfold scored a course PB with her 2:25:40 finish.

Back to Clumber for the first of Sunday’s races, the Clumber 10K trail race, Mike Brown achieved a 1 minute course PB with his 44:31, despite some mid-race argy-bargy! Neil Yewman came in on 50:03.

There was a good CRR turnout for the first running of NDRC’s Grassmoor 10K, over an undulating trail course. First home for the Club in 9th Place was Dan Harpham in 43:26; followed by Delphine Pearson in 47:34, Paul Taylor 48:53, Matt Taylor 49:44, Giles Searby 52:35, Craig Lockett 54:17, Allison Preece 56:35, Malc Ward 57:24 and Sally Cocking 1:07:47.

Also on Sunday, Michelle Needham conquered the grass, road, rocks, gravel and bogs that make up the Coniston Trail Marathon, finishing in 4:56:12.

Finally, Monday saw the latest race on our Grand Prix series at the ever popular Trunce. First to splash-down for CRR was Lewis Banton in 2nd place in 25:38; followed by Chris Lane 34:31; Steve Hattersley 35:47 and a PB; Hannah Sharpe 36:05; Andy Foster 36:22 and a PB; Matt Taylor 37:07; Malc Ward 38:53; Paul Sadler 39:32; Louise Lowe 39:41; Neil Yewman 39:54; Giles Searby 39:56; Michael Lees 43:14 and a PB; Jo Johnson 43:55; Michael Burr 44:20; David Johnson 46:06; Bridget Hemstock 46:43 and a PB; Suzanne Leusby 46:49 and a PB; Graham Sheen 49:16 and Jim McIntosh 50:41 and a PB.

Well done all!